Inspiring Blogger Award

blogger

A while ago, I was surprised and happy to learn that I’d been nominated by Of Life and Lies for an inspiring blogger award! I have been blogging, in one way or another, since I could get on the internet (anyone remember LiveJournal?!) Before that I kept notebook upon notebook full of diary entries, short stories & reams of mostly banal thoughts & embarrassing confessions. I am, apparently, a “digital native” However, I still do occasionally question why I blog. And my answer? I like it. I like writing, I like reading, I like talking, I like communities of like-minded people.

The urge to intellectualise everything must be curbed.

So, the rules:

1. Display the award logo on your blog.

2. Link back to the person who nominated you.

3. State 7 things about yourself

4. Nominate 15 other bloggers for this award and link to them.

5. Notify those bloggers of the nomination and the award requirements.

 

Here are my 7 things:

1. I used to trampoline competitively.

2. I have really flexible ears.

3. I once wrote a poem about my local football team, entered a competition with it and won a year’s supply of Wagon Wheels.

4. I am allergic to lots of things, including cats. My one regret in life is being allergic to cats.

5. I used to get in a lot of trouble at school because I did not do any of my homework. The reason why I did not do any of my homework was because I used to read 10 books per week and so did not have time for anything else.

6. I love running. Will I sound like a massive hippy if I say it’s like meditation? Probably. But I’m not a hippy. Honest.

7. I love, love, Bruce Springsteen.

Now, I’m not sure I can think of 15 bloggers to link to. I’m still quite new to all of this. I will, however, link to the awesome blogs I have come across so far.

Books I Done Read proves that book blogs can be fun.

Emily McPhillips is a good friend of mine and she writes beautifully.

Giles Ruffer, another friend of mine, also writes amazing words. Aren’t words amazing?

Of Life and Lies: is it okay for me to nominate the person who nominated me, thus starting a nonsensical but lovely circle of inspiration?

Reading the End is a great book blog and makes me feel less alone in my occasional bad habit of finding out the ending of books.

Things Mean a Lot is another brilliant book blog written by Ana, a Library School colleague of mine. I especially love Ana’s insights on gender in literature, but she is generally one of the most articulate bloggers around.

I know that isn’t a lot of links, but I am hoping to find more as things progress! Thanks to all of you above for inspiring me.

I will try and nominate everyone on their blogs after I’ve posted this, but if I do not get time I will endeavour to do it ASAP!

Leave a comment