I don’t fancy spending the next month trying to get librarian out of the carpet

Hello WordPress. It’s been a while. The last month has been rather hectic and, as a matter of fact, my feet are only starting to touch the ground. I sat and passed the final tests (there have been a lot) to enable me to complete my teacher training. I got engaged. I have been training for a 10K run. I bought an ereader. I have been watching Buffy the Vampire Slayer far too much. I have been gearing up to leave the Library in two months (!) and so working very hard. I have barely finished a book. I do not know what is happening.

However, I am happy to report that I am now over halfway through Ruta Sepetys’ new book “Out of the Easy” and, wow, she’s done it again. I’m fully immersed in/mezmerised by the world of the French Quarter of 1950s New Orleans. Sepetys has made me rethink my views on historial fiction completely; her angle on things is so refreshing. Historical fiction has never really been my thing, but I’m also of the school of thought that a good book is a good book, whatever the genre. I also really enjoyed the Between Shades of Gray/50 Shades of Grey confusion.

outoftheeasy

So, how is everyone? What have you been reading recently? I need an inspiring book to read next!

(Also: bookish wedding decorations? Everything is going to be completely DIY, so if anyone has seen anything exciting, please do post!)

4 thoughts on “I don’t fancy spending the next month trying to get librarian out of the carpet

  1. Buffy! It was about a year ago now that I started watching it (yep, for the first time – apparently I spend my teens years under a rock), and for the two months that followed it completely took over my life. Also, so excited for you about, well, everything! Huge congratulations on your engagement and on passing the final tests. I imagine that leaving the library will be a bit bittersweet, but there’s comfort to be found in knowing you’re doing what’s right for you.

    • I remember reading your Buffy posts actually! I used to love it when I was a teenager and was finally convinced to purchase the DVDs when I ended up discussing it with a group of English teachers at the pub. It is so good and has stood the test of time so well!

      Thank you for the congratulations! It’s all been a bit overwhelming, in a good way. I just told some of the kids I am leaving the Library and they almost made me cry. I imagine this will be a recurring theme over the next six weeks. However, the next adventure is super exciting and I know I’m doing the right thing.

  2. Congratulations on the engagement! Yay for you! And yay for Buffy also. I came to it a little late also but I loooove it now. I have plans to brainwash my future roommate into loving it too. My plan will work for sure.

Leave a Reply

