A Short Update

First of all: Happy Easter/holidays to you all! I hope that everyone has had a nice, relaxing time. I have spent a large proportion of my time eating, reading and riding my brand new bicycle everywhere.

I have also been revising for some more tests that I have to pass in order to become a teacher, so my brain is a little fried after lots of Maths auditing and testing! Hence, I have not really felt up to the challenge of writing proper, articulate reviews or library/book-related musings. I do, however, have a few things to say in the way of updates.

fielding

During the first week of my time off, I read “The Art of Fielding” by Chad Harbach. Despite appearing to be a book primarily about baseball (something I have absolutely no interest in and know even less about) I absolutely loved it. It is a big, richly peopled world that Harbach has created, and the story arc is incredibly satisfying. I will try to write a proper review at some stage, but I would urge you not to be put off my the subject matter, which I think is especially tricky for us Britons (I have never heard of anyone playing baseball here and I have never watched a game!)

anthrop

Since I finished Harbach’s book, I have been reading “Anthropology of an American Girl” by Hilary Thayler Hamann, which is taking some time. We started getting loads of requests for this from pupils, so finally relented and bought a copy for the library. My Easter task was (and is) to read it in order to assess the content/see whether we would need to warn anyone about anything within. A week in, I’m just over halfway through, and I am so frustrated and annoyed by the entire thing. It is written beautifully and the language is, at times, exquisite, but I find myself frequently so annoyed with the main character’s introspection and arrogance that I have to put the book down completely. And everything is so overwrought that it is quite tiring. Hence the very slow progress. Has anyone actually finished it? I am determined to do so, however I am worried that I’m getting really behind with my other reading! I’m so annoyed with it that I think it’s put me off even bothering to pick anything else up before I finish it.

greyhound

I did, however, in between all of this, manage to read “A Greyhound of a Girl” by Roddy Doyle from the Carnegie shortlist. Again, I will try to write a proper review soon, but what a charming little book! I don’t think it is my favourite, but it definitely brought a smile to my face.

In other news, last night I went to Tales of Whatever at the Castle in Manchester for the first time. It’s a monthly true storytelling event where interesting folk get up on stage and tell a, you guessed it, true story. Thoroughly enjoyable.

3 thoughts on “A Short Update

Leave a Reply

